Magical Thinking.

I like flaws and feel more comfortable around people who have them. I myself am made entirely of flaws, stitched together with good intentions.

Magical Thinking, Augusten Burroughs.

No quiero mirar atrás a este año y hacer balance. Me da algo de miedo. Ya sé una cosa que debe servirme, y es que aunque haya momentos oscuros, siempre habrá algo o alguien que me haga sonreír. Quiero centrarme en eso y seguir avanzando, vivir el hoy y no en el pasado. Quiero aprender a coger las cosas que me vayan viniendo, y no pensar en casos hipotéticos que no se han dado. Eso sólo me distraería del presente. No voy a proponerme objetivos para el nuevo año, muy pocas veces se cumplen. Lo que sí voy a conseguir es vivir feliz. Y no hay alternativa posible.

I don’t want to look back at this year and make a balance. I’m afraid to do so. I already know something that should be enough, and that is that there may be dark moments, but there will always be something or someone that makes me smile. I want to concentrate on that and keep moving forward, living the present and not the past. I want to learn to take things as they come, and no to think of hypothetic cases that haven’t existed. That would only distract me from the present. I won’t make resolutions for the new year, few times they’re fulfilled. What I am going to do is living happy. And there isn’t a possible alternative.

Comment

